Bullies: Not just on the playground anymore

I haven’t been blogging long. I just recently started getting up the courage to even put up a blog. I was always under the impression that no one would read what I wrote because it just wasn’t good enough. I’ve had a major support line though. I have amazing friends, family, and coworkers who are willing to stand up for me and help me out. They are willing to go the extra mile along side of me instead of standing in front of me pushing backwards. Now that being said I’m not naive to what is out there. I know there is bullying and I know it can get bad. I’ve stood up for friends and family who were bullied. I don’t agree with it and find it’s the worst form of cowardice out there. Now…. saying that I’ve never even thought of bullying being an author. I just figured there were reviews and what they said is just what they feel. I will chalk it up to my being new and naive in the field of writing. I have little to no experience and am just starting to get my feet wet. I suggest if you are like me, find a writing buddy, look at blogs, and gain support and help wherever possible!!! On the topic of bullies I haven’t seen anyone put it better than the blog I’m currently reading. I have adored Kristen Lamb’s blog and it has pretty sound advice I’ve actually taken to heart. I don’t usually reblog something (again haven’t been blogging long) but I figured this was worth the reblog and mention. Take a look at it and some of her other stuff too. You may just find something you didn’t know you were looking for. 🙂

 

Brave New Bullying: Goodreads Gangs, Amazon Attacks—What Are Writers to Do?.

 

Bullying has never been ok. It has been what has kept me from publishing my stuff for as long as I have. I finally told myself it just didn’t matter anymore. I was going to do this for me and me alone. I know what I want to do and if I just keep hiding behind the what if’s I will never get it done. So seriously, if you have something to say then say it… but be respectful to those you are saying it to or about.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

