Is there a cure to writer’s block?!

Warning! Warning! Warning! Meltdown in progress! Warning! Warning! Warning!

I’m sure we’ve all had that feeling. The red lights are flashing. Sirens are going off. There’s screaming and panicking. It looks like a weird cartoon in your head…… classic signs.  🙂  It’s ok though. We all go through it. Everyone’s trigger is something different. Some of us have deadlines (real life and self imposed ones) And during those times stress and hair pulling is imminent. Reactions to these situations are different as well. Some of us lean toward the dramatic, (me totally) some are calm collected and quiet on the outside and take everything to heart on the inside, some turn into an emotional mess. The important thing to do here is figure out YOUR own way to calm down. Don’t let anyone tell you how you should be reacting and how you should be calming down. Their way may not work for you.

So where am I going with this? Well…….I have been working on this same plot line for almost a year now. It’s driving me insane. I’ve stressed internally, outwardly, teared up, and let people tell me to stop being dramatic. I’ve stepped away from the project, come back to it, abandoned it, and outright tried to just delete it. If I have learned anything about myself during this process; it’s that I can’t quit a project that I’ve invested time and self into. You’d think this is a good thing right? Well not so much….. 😉

Soooooooo during my meltdown time I realized something: I NEED ADVICE!!! What do I do when I need advice?  Well I talk it out with my husband. Honestly we should all have at least one person we can go to at any time (who knows we can get a little crazy) to talk to. Someone who won’t judge but will give you that imaginary smack to the face. Well he’s that for me. He talked me through everything and redirected my focus. So I’m back on my project. My proverbial muse is not around just yet though. So what did the sweetie do for me?

He did what any good husband would do.  He got me a book!!!!! At first I was a bit insulted. I mean I am the writer. I am the one who should be able to do this on my own and without any help right?! Yeah I was totally wrong. This book has been nothing less than amazing!!!!  It gives me writing prompts, advice, how to’s, and makes me think. There are visual queues, written instruction, implied instruction, and just plain fun stuff to do.

So what is this awesome miracle book you ask?  Well I’m talking about Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guede to Creating Imaginative Fiction by Jeff VanderMeer!!!  Seriously I recommend this book to ANY and ALL writers out there whether you are new to the game or an old pro. I love having my creative nerve stroked once in a while and this book makes me think. So as I’m reading it and writing through the prompts I’ll put them up here. If you want to follow along with me I encourage you to do the same…. I’ll post the prompt and my writing to go along with it.  🙂

So tonight I leave you with one thing…. HAPPY WRITING ALL YOU WRITERS OUT THERE!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

