Projects Projects and More Projects

Sometimes I wonder if all of this writing is actually worth anything. I get these ideas that nag and nag at me until I get them down. But then what? There is editing, publishing, marketing. It’s all so exhausting. So really is it all worth it?

My answer to myself: TOTALLY!!!

Anything that stokes a passion is worth doing. If you are passionate about something it is ALWAYS worth doing. I write because it’s something I love to do. I don’t write for money. (although that would be amazing) I don’t write as just a hobby (although gain nothing wrong with that) Writing is a passion. I put heart, soul, life, into every word I write. When I write I feel like I can do and go anywhere. I want my readers to be able to escape into a different world.

Writing prompts are there to help stoke the imagination. My mind is constantly looking at any and every angle of things and sometimes that’s just exhausting. In the end it’s completely worth it. I get to do something I love and get these words out of my head. 🙂 It’s a win win!!!

Anyway….. I was asked recently what exactly I was passionate about. What keeps me going? Why do I do what I do?

These are actually hard things to answer. Being passionate about something requires more than just attention and time. It requires more than just love and care. It means putting your ENTIRE self into something. People are not always on board with your passions. Some people cannot understand your passions. Many people are even talked down upon because of their passions. Being passionate about something is very hard and can mean taking a lot of risks. So when I was asked what are you passionate about, I had to think about it. What am I really passionate about? I LOVE many things, I adore things, I dislike things, but am I passionate? The answer actually came to me a lot easier than I was expecting. I am passionate about my writing. I have done many things for my writing. I have made myself sick, lost sleep, had nothing else on my mind but my writing, done research, talked people’s ears off, lost my voice speaking about pitches, and even spent 3 hours recovering data all over writing.  🙂 It’s my escape from everything. It’s my passion. I’m a descriptive writer so I like to create. I can spin color, bend worlds, create beings, and change reality in mere words. It’s amazing!!!! I’m working on 3 different projects with a 4th, 5th, and 6th in the works. I’ll post a synopsis of three of them below and just a look into the other three. They are all still roughed out. The first one is so near being complete I can taste it!!!  It’s exciting really!!! Anyway I’m a bit off topic aren’t I?  What keeps me going?

Well what keeps anyone going? I have a ton of support. And even if people aren’t interested sometimes I think I’m so excited about something I’m glowing. It makes the subject all of a sudden interesting even to the uninterested party. Passion is contagious. Just having someone listen and allow me to just light up about what I love is enough to keep me going. So in a simple answer; what keeps me going? My friends, family, potential readers, strangers, everyone!!! Why do I do what I do?

Well that’s actually really simple: because I want to. There is nothing more and nothing less than that. I do what I do because it is something I want to do. 🙂 Nothing deep there.  So I urge you all to follow a passion you have. Don’t feel badly because not everyone agrees with it or even likes it. Do what you are doing because it is what you want to do and it makes you happy. That is the MOST important thing in this world. 🙂

Ok here are some of the projects I’m working on right now. First off is Dangerous Beauty. Backstory to this? Well I’ve been working on it for YEARS literally YEARS, 8 years to be exact. I’ve finally put a final draft and it’s going through just content edits. Here is a small synopsis of Dangerous Beauty:

Nobility, Sorcery, Sirens, Witches, and an inescapable evil lurk in the Kingdom of Tieruron. Count Makraim has been living his life for his king. Putting his past behind him caused him to harden his heart to the one person who could help him out of darkness. Matsey, a servant in the count’s household, holds a power all her own. Elise finds her self on the run from a man who has destroyed her only way of life. Glimpses of a secret past may be the only way to save those she has grown to trust.

Together, they face off in a war of magical proportions, and the three must help Elise find her true identity to unlock a power hidden deep within. The journey will be long and the war will be bloody, but the three may just come out of top with a little bit of help.

Dangerous Beauty is a fantasy novel that takes you on a journey through a kingdom struggling to keep itself out of the clutches of hell. The exhausted people are hopeful for someone willing to rid them of the evil that’s seeking power to destroy them.

My second project in the works is titled Behind Crossed Lines. This piece of work took a lot and I mean A LOT out of me. I was sick and running a high temp half of the novel!!! It’s on it’s first edits and has been through 2 rewrites!!! Yep lots of work. Now this one I spent less time on but still years of work, roughly 4 years on this one. Anyway….. This is the only way I can describe this novel: (it’s still a work in progress guys)

War is immanent when gods and goddesses gift mortals with immortality. Delwyn has the misfortune of being a beauty worthy of a goddess not to mention a mysterious past only her father knows about. Her father is a blacksmith gifted by the gods to make the most divine blades. A fallen lesser god has found out about the two being on Earth and will start as many wars as needed that will span years upon years to get what it is he wants, her. Delwyn’s secret is close to being revealed. She has powerful friends that will fight the gods themselves to keep her among them. Will she be able to find herself before her world becomes a hell on Earth? A figure from her past has been chasing her for years. She doesn’t fear him but is unwilling to go to him. He will move Heaven, Hell, and Earth itself to keep her happy. All the confusion, all the anger, and all the passions will come to a head in one epic and final battle that will destroy the lives of everyone involved in order to save the people of Edilwyn as well as their gods. Will you join them on their journey? Will you be able to pick a side?

My third project that is in the works is temporarily titled The Queen’s Portal. This was last years NaNoWriMo project and it has been a joint idea. I had this idea for a semi scifi novel. I’m not the biggest scifi fan so I had to rely on my hubby for help on certain elements. I had no idea it would take the form it has taken. It has been rewritten once now and will go through a second rewrite as well as edits in abundance!!! Anyway…. here is a short synopsis of The Queen’s Portal:

Malei has lived her life on Earth in present day 2014 with her guardian Barnabus. On her 25th birthday a mark appeared on her back. Curious she went to get it checked out by the military doctor. Thinking nothing of his explanation she went on a routine patrol with her troop. Things get hectic and a portal appears during the attack sucking her into it. She wakes to find herself in a dingy room with an overly excited male around her own age. Disoriented she seeks information from him and finds an overload. She is a princess and her parents were killed when she was younger in a war. Her brother had taken her throne and now she is needed to take it back again. Malei needs to make a decision to either leave everything behind and claim her birthright and save the people of her lands or go back to the family she left behind on Earth. What kind of war will await her decision? Can she choose honor and duty over life and love?

I’ve got two possibly three different things in the works. The Queen’s Portal very well may be a two or three part series describing the lands, her decision, and ramifications of her decision. Can’t give you two much on that or it will spoil the book itself!!!!  🙂  BUT I can give you a peak into something that has popped into my head recently.

She glided through the ruins of the castle. Her feet light on the dust covered floors. Images flashed before her eyes. Dancing couples twirling in the great hall, servants bustling about in the dining hall, a royal couple receiving subjects in the throne room, a small child with beautiful curly locks of purple hair and beautiful blue eyes. The pictures disappeared leaving the ruin and dust behind. She signed. Twirling around and walking to the grand staircase she smiled and touched it. Dust vanished with her touch and the ivory shown once more with a brilliance only brought about with care and a lot of polishing. She ascended the staircase looking ahead and paying no attention to anything around her. People appeared on all sides. Ghosts of the past whirled around her and echoes of conversations long gone floated to her ears. She reached the top stair and turned at a foreign noise. There, at the bottom of the stair stood a man. He looked up at her, through her. She moved into the shadows and watched as all the visions disappeared from view. This man would go too and she would be alone again, as she has been for over 2000 years. Tortured and locked away in a ruin of a castle Monique was doomed to spend her days. 

Well there you go guys!!!  That is ALL I’ve been up to!!!  Tell me what you think!!  Tell me about your passions!!! I’d love to hear from you all!!!  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

